Student-athletes honored at annual celebration

Student-athletes honored at annual celebration

Johnson & Wales University student-athletes and their guests gathered in Centennial Hall on Saturday evening for a reception and ceremony honoring the Wildcat's performance both in the classroom and in competition during the 2016-2017 academic year.

Master of Ceremonies, Assistant Director of Athletics Mike Gallegos, opened the program with a reflection of the year and spoke of the bright future ahead for Wildcat Athletics. Each team gave out several awards including Most Oustanding Player, Newcomer of the Year, and the Coaches Award, recognizing a student-athlete who contributed to the program in multiple ways including leadership and sportsmanship.

Following the team awards, Lucas Prolow (Evergreen, Colo.) and Mitchel Erickson (Pueblo West, Colo.) were recognized for their selection as Academic All-American's. Prolow was named to the First Team and Erickson was recognized as a Second Team honoree. McCorra Ford was honored for her selection as an NAIA All-America Honorable Mention in women's basketball.

The final award of the evening was the announcement of the 2016-2017 Mr. and Ms. Wildcat. This award is presented to a male and female student-athlete who have excelled athletically and academically. Prolow and Samantha Barela (Colorado Springs, Colo.) were honored for their Wildcat Athletics careers. 

Dean of Executive Programs, Dr. Robin Krakowsky, came to the stage to help present the graduation seniors with their athletics cords and a senior gift to close out the evening.

A special thanks to Fergus Bunn, Jordan Cleppe, Hawa Diane, Jose Gonzalez and Lauren Tominaga from Professor Deb Pasquarella's Business Event Management course for their help in planning and execution of this year's event.

Individual Awards

Volleyball   Men's Cross Country
Most Outstanding Athlete Kelley McLain   Most Outstanding Athlete Alberto Rodriguez
Newcomer of the Year Ashlee Ruehs   Newcomer of the Year Bryce Moore
Coaches Award Kaleigh Hanrahan   Coaches Award Steven Juarez
Women's Cross Country   Men's Soccer
Most Outstanding Athlete Samantha Barela   Most Outstanding Athlete Lucas Prolow
Newcomer of the Year Brandi Williams-Beck   Newcomer of the Year Kyler Fowkes
Coaches Award Olivia Redmann   Coaches Award Andy Siddoway
Women's Soccer   Men's Basketball
Most Outstanding Athlete Kelsie Treloar   Most Outstanding Athlete Andrew Bonner
Newcomer of the Year Savanah Heinz   Newcomer of the Year King Grant-Perry
Coaches Award Elizabeth Felix   Coaches Award Jontrell Herman
Women's Basketball   Women's Track
Most Outstanding Athlete McCorra Ford   Most Outstanding Athlete Brandi Williams-Beck
Newcomer of the Year Salma Oros   Newcomer of the Year Catherine Carbeck
Coaches Award Vanessa Maestas   Coaches Award Kelci Freeman
Men's Track   Women's Lacrosse
Most Outstanding Athlete Alberto Rodriguez   Most Outstanding Athlete Hanna Jo Eady
Newcomer of the Year Bryce Moore   Newcomer of the Year Katie Smith
Coaches Award Alan Almeida   Coaches Award Kyra Gangemi 
Men's Lacrosse      
Most Outstanding Athlete Evan Longinott      
Most Outstanding Athlete Isaiah Matthews      
Newcomer of the Year Jean-Sebastien Vila-Camacho    
Coaches Award Matt Zoe