Neal, Durkin and Ward selected to A.I.I. All-Conference teams

Neal, Durkin and Ward selected to A.I.I. All-Conference teams

The Association of Independent Institutions (A.I.I.) announced their 2012-2013 Division II Women's Basketball All-Conference teams on Tuesday afternoon. Three student-athletes from Johnson & Wales University were selected by the A.I.I. coaches for the honor.

Senior Samantha Neal (Golden, Colo.) was named to the First Team All-Conference. She was honored as a member of the second team last season. This season Samantha averaged 12.29 points per game and ranks 10th in NAIA Division II Women's Basketball at total three point field goals made with 85. She became the third Wildcat player with 1,000 points in her JWU career during a game at Mayville State in early January and finished her Johnson & Wales career with 1,134 total points and sits second on the all-time scoring list.

Senior Caitlin Durkin (Littleton, Colo.) was also named to the First Team All-Conference for the second straight year. Durkin led the team in scoring, averaging 16.16 points per game and is the 8th ranked Division II player for three point field goals made with 88. Caitlin closed out the regular season with a three point bucket that pushed her over 1,000 points as a Wildcat in just two seasons. She finished the season with 1,020 and ranks fourth on the JWU all-time scoring list.

Redshirt freshman Kristen Ward (Thornton, Colo.) was selected as a Second Team All-Conference honoree by the A.I.I. During the 2012-2013 season, Kristen averaged 15.3 points per game and had an explosive performance in a December 7 contest at Arizona Christian where she finished with 47 points, which is the most points ever scored by a Wildcat and also the most by an NAIA women's basketball player at both the Division I and II levels this season.

Mayville State University’s Marcisa McMillan has been named the Association of Independent Institutions Division II Women’s Basketball Conference Player of the Year, while Jamestown College coach Greg Ulland has been named the Coach of the Year.

First Team All-Conference
Marcisa McMillan, Mayville State
Hailey Longtin, Mayville State
Hannah Steele, Jamestown
Bridget Schuneman, Jamestown
Samantha Neal, Johnson & Wales
Caitlin Durkin, Johnson & Wales

Natalie Hawthorne, La Sierra
Megan Holland, Indiana Northwest
Sam Tomaschko, Rochester
Brittany Lehner, Valley City State 

Second Team All-Conference
Quinn Rear, Ashford
Gaby Ayon, Ashford
Madison Wagner, Ashford
Kylie Westover, Dakota State
Porsha Grayson, Fisher
Carly Jensen, Jamestown
Kristen Ward, Johnson & Wales
Sabrina Rude, Mayville State
Travana Johnson, Northern New Mexico
Katie Ralston, Valley City State